The W8 forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Problems, Tips and Tricks About the W8 > Interior
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: flap servo motor
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

 Shoutbox  Your message
You must log in to shout!

flap servo motor

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Superman View Drop Down
Moderator
Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 10-Oct-2013
Location: LA
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 914
  Quote Superman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: flap servo motor
    Posted: 11-Jun-2018 at 08:13
The car was just low on freon which threw all of these codes, the dealership charged the system, checked for leaks and cleared the codes. All is well now.
Back to Top
Superman View Drop Down
Moderator
Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 10-Oct-2013
Location: LA
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 914
  Quote Superman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29-Apr-2018 at 22:33
I tested each individual flap by selecting them on the control panel and each is working alright, I can hear them move in the dash and the air blows through different vents from the dash.

However, this time when I ran the codes I noticed 333 - refrigerant pressure sensor. That's probably something I will need the dealer to fix since I have no way to evac the Freon from the system.
Back to Top
Superman View Drop Down
Moderator
Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 10-Oct-2013
Location: LA
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 914
  Quote Superman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-Apr-2018 at 18:26
The fan still blows but it's no longer cold. I checked the Freon and it's okay. I haven't tried the heater yet.
Back to Top
eddycooper View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 24-Aug-2014
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 67
  Quote eddycooper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-Apr-2018 at 17:00
Does your heat/AC all seem to work right? I know I've got one bad servo motor and it makes ticking sounds all the time. My bad one is almost impossible to get to - under the HVAC unit, up front towards the firewall. So I've never fixed it.
Back to Top
JayTheSnork View Drop Down
Admin
Admin


Joined: 20-Mar-2016
Location: Waterford, CT
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 140
  Quote JayTheSnork Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-Apr-2018 at 14:31
replace the climatronic unit, or repair it. I haven't done either, but I think there is a writeup on it on PW, iirc.
Back to Top
Superman View Drop Down
Moderator
Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 10-Oct-2013
Location: LA
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 914
  Quote Superman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-Apr-2018 at 14:30
I looked in the Bentley manual and yes, it's four different motors, and now I see your logic about all going out at the same time. So, what's the next step?
Back to Top
JayTheSnork View Drop Down
Admin
Admin


Joined: 20-Mar-2016
Location: Waterford, CT
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 140
  Quote JayTheSnork Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-Apr-2018 at 14:05
that certainly looks like more than one servo motor. I'm betting the power supply in the climatronic unit went belly up.
Back to Top
Superman View Drop Down
Moderator
Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 10-Oct-2013
Location: LA
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 914
  Quote Superman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-Apr-2018 at 12:07
My Climatronic went into diagnostic mode and the code is for a bad flap servo motor (codes listed below). I had gotten a code from VCDS a while back that it wasn't functioning properly and it was making noises, so it must have finally gave out. Does anyone have any experience or help about changing that part?

25b - footwell/defrost flap servo motor
4F7 - temperature flap servo motor
4F8 - central flap servo motor
4FA - recirculaton flap servo motor
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.56a
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz

This page was generated in 0,063 seconds.